Cache Valley BJJ is Born

It’s been a long time since my last post on this blog (I feel like every blog post starts off that way).  And since my last post, quite a few things have changed in my jiu jitsu life.  Most notably, my head instructor (and still great friend) came to the realization that he simply had too much on his plate to continue running the branch where I train.

Rather than closing though, he “turned the reigns” over to a few of his students (myself included), in the hopes that we would keep jiu jitsu alive in our area.  We’re still an affiliate of the main West Side Academy, but have since relocated and reopened.

After some discussion of potential names for the club, we decided to go with a fairly generic one: Cache Valley Brazilian Jiu Jitsu.  The hope is that interested students in the Logan area (Cache Valley, Utah) will easily find us.  With Mark’s blessing, we continued to use his amazing logo for West Side Jiu Jitsu (affectionately named the “Skulltopus”).  And after an ungodly amount of time  spent clumsily trying to learn to use Photoshop, I finally put together a banner for the website and Facebook page:

Image

“Make a cool banner,” I thought…
“It will only take a few minutes,” I thought…
Several hours later, we have a Cache Valley BJJ banner.

I’m quickly finding that opening and running a club is much more work than I anticipated.  But I’m excited. And anxious.  And hopeful.  I’m also learning a ton of new skills in the process (including website design, Photoshop, curriculum development, and the importance of organization).  I’m confident that with hard work, dedication, and passion for jiu jitsu, we’ll be able to keep the spirit of West Side alive and well in Logan.

Check out the website at www.cachevalleyBJJ.com

Also visit us on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/cachevalleyBJJ

About Dave

Grad student in Ecology, Blue belt in jiu jitsu.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cache Valley BJJ is Born

  1. slideyfoot says:

    Cool! I hope you’ll be writing lots of posts on here about the whole process of getting the club up and running. I’d love to try it one day myself, so I’m very interested in hearing more about it. 😀

  2. PappieBear says:

    Sometimes its more about convincing the locals that what they know till now can be improved upon. After that BJJ will do what it does best.

Leave a Reply

