Tournament Matches

This weekend we had a friendly tournament against another local school.  Normally I’m super nervous before matches, but this time I was just excited.  Everyone was really cool, the atmosphere was friendly, and I treated my matches as an opportunity to roll with some new bodies.  Everyone from West Side did very well – and win or lose, I think everyone learned something from their matches.

Despite winning both of my matches, I learned that I have a bunch of major holes in my game:

  1. Wrestling.  In my first match, I got flattened before I even knew what happened.
  2. Arm bar finishes.  One of my instructors was yelling “belly down” when I locked up an arm bar in my first match, and I probably would have been able to finish it if I would have done so.
  3. Guard passing and top game.  I’m usually the one playing guard in my matches, and being on top takes me out of my element.  I spent a lot of time in my opponent’s guard in my second match.
  4. Be more sneaky with submission set ups.  The mounted triangle that I set up in my second match was way too obvious, and I paid for it by having to fight really hard to secure it.

Back to training!

About Dave

Grad student in Ecology, Blue belt in jiu jitsu.
This entry was posted in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Tournaments, West Side and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tournament Matches

  1. kc says:

    Im 42 and thought I was in great shape until bjj. 2 weeks into it and I’m finding everything you say about it to be point on. Thanks for the insight.
    I love Bjj
    Kc

Leave a comment